Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

shot_1361119884732For my recipe this week I wanted to try something sweet, as my recent recipes have been savoury for the most part.

Everyone raves about red velvet cupcakes, and I’ve tasted a few in my time, but have never actually baked any, so I thought it was the perfect sweet treat to try!

I decided to use the recipe from The Hummingbird Bakery’s Cake Days cookbook.

In all honesty it was a lot of effort to go to! Usually cupcakes are quick and easy to make with hardly any mess, but not these! The kitchen ended up in a state with bowls everywhere!

Unfortunately, I found the taste disappointing too. I love a rich, chocolatey cupcake and these just weren’t up to scratch. It’s a shame, but I can’t expect every recipe I try to go well! I’ll definitely be sticking to good old double chocolate in the future!

