Tags

, , , , , , ,

shot_1359720092877I grew bored with my dull, grey folding chair, and after re-invigorating my room with splashes of colour I decided that the grey had to go! Instead of replacing the whole chair, I decided to re-upholster it with a cute fabric.

I struggled to find the fabric that I wanted, so I made it myself! It was really quite simple!

Here’s what you need:

  • Base fabric
  • Fabric paint
  • Transparent stencil paper
  • Craft knife
  • Printed image of stencil
  • Stencil brush

Take the printed image of your stencil shape and place it under the transparent stencil paper – make sure you protect the surface you are working on!

Using the craft knife, cut through the transparent stencil paper around the outline of your image to leave you with your stencil.

Place the stencil over your base fabric and, using a little fabric paint at a time, fill in the shape – you don’t want to be too generous with the paint as it might soak through the fabric!

Once you have finished stencilling, leave it to dry and set with an iron as per the instructions on the fabric paint.

shot_1359720077291I unscrewed the back and seat from my chair, removed the old fabric, and stapled the new fabric on, being sure to make holes where the screws go.

Then, once it was re-assembled, I was left with a bright, fun chair that I was proud to have made myself!

I’d definitely recommend both fabric painting and re-upholstering – they’re a much cheaper and more fun alternative when you want to update simple furniture!

