Tags

, , , , , , , ,

shot_1359296759084

If you read about my Goals For 2013 you’ll remember that I planned to make an effort to learn new skills. It’s something I’ve been doing with my recipe of the week by learning new ways to cook, and it’s something I did this week by learning to crochet!

I’ve been a knitter for some years now, and have always been intrigued by the craft of crochet. Over Christmas I tried (and failed!) to crochet a snowflake, so I thought I’d better start at the beginning with the classic crochet granny squares!

shot_1359296657990

I have a fun book called Meet Me At Mike’s by Pip Lincolne, which has all sorts of crafty projects to do, including granny squares for the very beginner – a step-by-step tutorial on how to make the perfect granny squares.

shot_1359296675067

I learned about stitches and rounds and in no time I was whizzing away, producing lots of lovely little squares (and some big ones too)! I wanted to try sewing a few squares together, and even though I kept it simple I think it turned out OK, if a little rough around the edges!

shot_1359296752914

Next I’m planning on making a big granny square blanket to keep me warm on these cold winter evenings!

