So it’s 8:55 on Sunday morning, and I’m up, dressed and fed! I’ve always been quite an early starter, so I’m glad I’m carrying that on into my unemployment!

I found yesterday was not much of a day, in that I didn’t really achieve anything (apart from catching up on a few TV programmes we had recorded). So I’ve organised myself today with a to-do list to motivate me to get through a few tasks and to give me a sense of accomplishment, which I’ll get when I look at my list at the end of the day and see that everything has been ticked off.

I know it’s not necessary to be strict with myself, saying that I MUST get something done in a day because, let’s face it, I’ve got plenty of days! But I can find myself not knowing what to do next, or spending too much time thinking about what I could be doing rather than actually getting down and doing it. And that’s why I love lists. I give myself enough tasks to keep myself busy, but not too many that I risk not getting them done, and it’s a good way to encourage myself to do those one or two things that I don’t really want to do but I really ought to. When there’s something you’d rather not do, for whatever reason, it’s pretty easy to just put it off again and again in favour of something more enjoyable, but when it’s written on paper with six other things that you’re looking forward to, that one thing doesn’t seem so significant. And I think that’s a great way to put things in perspective – just do that one thing now, and then for the rest of the day you can do all those other things you really want to do!

So with that being said, I guess it’s time to get the ladders from the shed and head into the loft!

