So I have taken the plunge and requested to reduce my contracted hours at work.

After much deliberation over whether to try and push myself further in retail management, try and get into the food industry, or to simply just run away, I have come up with a solution. Now I just have to cross my fingers and hope it all works out!

The idea is I would work three days a week, which earns me enough money to cover my bills (I’m a very lucky girl with very few expenses), allowing me four days during which I can explore my options in order to learn exactly what it is that I want to do with my life. I’d use the time attending open days, doing short courses and trying to get work experience in every sector that I am interested in working in. I find I can think things through over and over again, but until I have some practical experience in the jobs I’m considering, I really don’t think I’ll have a clue.

The contract reduction request has been sent and now is a waiting game to see the results. It is a bit of a gamble but it feels great to be actively doing something on the path to life improvement (and happiness – that is, after all, what this blog is all about), and I’m just hoping it pays off!

