It’s about time…

I’ve decided I spend too long on the Internet trying to find answers from someone/somewhere else. I tend to use Google much more than I need to, and I can’t count the number of times I’ve scrolled through the Adult Education Centre courses list just waiting for something to pop out and me with  a big ‘I want to do you!’.

So, I am going to turn my attention away from my laptop and instead focus on my bookshelf. Over the years I have accumulated a collection of how-to books on all sorts of topics including:

Basic Crochet Stitches

Meet Me At Mike’s

The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook

Kirstie’s Homemade Home

Patternmaking in Fashion

The Essential Guide To Cake Decorating

Unfortunately, I haven’t ever really gone further than browsing the covers of most of these books. I see them as a representation of the me I want to be rather than the me I am. And that ought to be motivation enough for me to pick them up and teach myself something new.

I work best when I have goals and targets, so I plan to work through each of these books, trying out different ideas. I shall post my successes (and maybe even my failures…) on here, so I have a record of how far I’ve come and a reason to keep going.

I am not, however, going to give myself time limits. I’ll allow myself a leisurely pace because I think I stress myself out enough without making the enjoyable things stressful too.

But where to start?

