Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been trying to get that work/life balance right. It’s pretty difficult when you don’t really have a defined ‘work’, and then when ‘life’ is just all over the place it makes it even tougher! Honestly, I’ve not really allocated myself that much ‘work’ time. It’s more something that I’ve been doing when I can get round to it, rather than something that I’m driving and putting at the top of my priority list.

I’ve not done too badly though. With a pile of fabrics that I’ve collected over the years, and a box full of wool, I’ve been able to create a few products from what I already had lying around. I think knitting has become more of a focus, as it’s something I enjoy and can pick up and do whenever, wherever. The sewing has taken more of a back seat, I think mostly because it isn’t so easy to pick up and get on with, what with having to set up the sewing machine and all. I’ve had a couple of mornings where I’ve really knuckled down, but I guess it’s something I’ll have to learn by practice!

Having said that, I’ve spent a fair amount of time over the last couple of days photographing items and listing them on Etsy, as well as setting up a Facebook page.

For anyone who doesn’t know, Etsy is a website sellers can join, through which you can buy and sell handmade products, vintage items and supplies. I decided that it was the best platform through which to sell my products as the people who shop there will be looking for something handmade. In a way it’s already tailored to my target market.

Adding a Facebook page was the perfect way to communicate with my ‘likers’ and customers. From the Etsy shop you can ‘like’ the Facebook page, and from the Facebook page you can visit the shop. I’m hoping to use it as a way to give insight into the behind-the-scenes aspects of the shop, discussing new products that we have in the pipeline and generally being totally open and honest with our customers! I think it’ll also be really cool to use it as a photo diary, documenting the progress we make.

You can view the Etsy shop here

And the Facebook page here

