I made it through my final day at work before holiday. It was a bit of a struggle, I’m not gonna lie, and with a lot of things to do I’ve gotta say I’m really happy to see the end of the day!

So far I’ve had a chilled evening, with the regular Saturday night takeaway (Domino’s this week) and a bit of (Olympic) TV.

One of the things I love most about the Olympics is how frequently you’re able to just stumble upon something totally amazing. Obviously, being the most well known sporting event in the world, athletes are certain to do everything in their power to bring their absolute best, and today I witnessed that completely by chance.

I turned onto the BBC coverage just as the women’s 400m individual medley began, and of course I was rooting for Hannah Miley (the Brit), but it was actually Chinese Shiwen Ye who stole the show with an incredible swim smashing the world record by over a second! And the most incredible part of all? She’s just 16!

I’ve never been sporty, I hated P.E. at school and I’ve never played sport in my spare time. But there’s something about the Olympics – the fact that really anything is possible, witnessing these incredible people display their amazing talent, and considering all of the hard work that they put in, that I find truly awe-inspiring!

Let’s just face it – I want to be Jessica Ennis!

