It’s been a long time since I’ve blogged (for me anyway!) which is mainly due to a lot of work and not much else, meaning I’ve not really had much to blog about.

Today however, was a lovely day with lots to say.

For my birthday way back in January my parents gifted me a Red Letter Days experience for Afternoon Tea for Two at Cake Boy.

I became a little obsessed with Cake Boy after watching Baking Mad with Eric Lanlard on Channel 4 and becoming totally awestruck by his creations, so you’ll appreciate that it was the perfect gift for me.

Having been looking forward to it for a good few months, me and the boy(friend!) decided to make a bit of a day of it and go on theLondon Eye too, as I’ve been going on and on about not having done it yet!

I started the day with a Krispy Kreme doughnut (Strawberries and Cream flavour) followed by the London Eye. I’m not gonna lie, I was a little disappointed. I didn’t find it exciting, and although it was interesting to see Wembley Stadium from afar and the front of The Old Vic Theatre, I wasn’t really bothered for the majority of London’s architecture which is, let’s face it, pretty grotty. At least I can say I’ve done it now though!

With an hour to kill we took a stroll along Southbank and paused for a delicious hotdog along the way. Here’s a sneak look at some of the things we saw:

Then (after a few train mishaps) we made it to Cake Boy, and what an experience it was!

Walking through the door we were faced with a counter full of the most delicious looking cupcakes, desserts and pastries – a good start. Then I spotted Eric Lanlard and got a bit giddy! We were shown to a table in a quiet corner of the decadent ‘cake boutique’ with luxurious leather chairs and a hot pink sofa. The decor was extravagant – glistening chandeliers and floral wallpaper adorned with fairy lights. It was over-the-top but totally beautiful!

And the same can be said for the food. For the savoury, a selection of miniature croissants and rolls filled with parma ham and roasted vegetables, chicken salad and salmon and cream cheese – really delicious.

But the desserts were on another level! Such a huge selection of miniature macaroons, tarts, eclairs, and dessert shots. So many in fact, that I left feeling rather sick, but it was so worth it! Add onto that a pot of tea and a glass of champagne, and you have the best afternoon tea you could ask for!

